Bayliss Library to Host First Literary Hall of Fame Ceremony

Bayliss Public Library in Sault Ste. Marie is hosting the first induction ceremony for the Upper Peninsula Literary Hall of Fame, to honor the great writers from the history of the area.

Presenters for the event include library Manager Meredith Sommers from Sault Ste. Marie, poet April Lindala from Marquette, writer Alex Vartan Gubbins from Ishpeming, and current Upper Peninsula Poet Laureate M. Bartley Seigel from Houghton, who will be inducting the first four writers selected for the hall of fame with the help of nominations from Bayliss Public Library in Sault Ste. Marie, Island Bookstore in Mackinac Island, Munising Public Library in Munising, and event organizer Ron Riekki from Negaunee and Palmer.

The event May 13 at 2 p.m. is free to the public.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *