Blue Devils Celebrate Successful Season with Track and Field Awards

After a very successful track and field season, the coaches of the Sault High Blue Devils Track and Field Teams presented awards to their athletes on Tuesday night. Head Coach of the girls team Scott Menard recognized a number of his athletes. Most Valuable Player for Track co-recipients were Isabella DeWildt and Cassandra Gallagher. Most Valuable for Field co-recipients were Katie Anderson, Ava Donmyer, Annabelle Fazzari and Hannah Maurer. Most Improved went to Mackenzie Bell. The McLain Coach’s Award went to both Annabelle Fazzari and Mackenzie Bell. Tarynn Pratt was awarded the Outstanding Newcomer Award, and Isabella DeWildt earned the Wallis Determination Award. The highest overall point scorer for the team was Annabelle Fazzari with 162.75 points on the season. 

On the boys side, Head Coach Jim Martin also recognized a number of his athletes. Most Valuable Player for Track was Carter Oshelski, and Most Valuable Player for Field went to Rayce Rizzo. The Horizon Award went to Gabe Litzner. Oshelski, Rizzo and Litzner all broke school records this season. Rizzo and Litzner then broke their own records later in the season. The Coach’s award went to co-recipients Cody Aldridge, Caleb Klier, Talon Thomas Holm, and Nate Koepp. Most Improved went to both Donnivan Dykraaf and Evan Arbic. The Captains Awards were presented to Evan Arbic and Alex Jacek. The highest overall point scorer for the boys team was Carter Oshelski, who racked up 309 points this season. 

Menard and Martin were assisted this year by Brad Boven, Becky Arbic, Tony McLain and Michael Rand. 

Photos courtesy of student athletes, parents and coaches. 


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *