Newly elected Sault Tribe directors take oath

SAULT STE. MARIE — Newly elected Sault Tribe board representatives took their oath of office July 5 at the Kewadin Casino Grand Ballroom — Isaac McKechnie and Robert McRorie for Unit I, Kimberly Lee for Unit II, Shawn Borowicz for Unit III, Kimberly Hampton for Unit IV and Tyler LaPlaunt for Unit V. The oaths were administered by Election Committee members Diane Moore and James McKerchie.  

The new board consists of Unit I Directors Mike McKerchie, Austin Lowes, Betty Freiheit, Isaac McKechnie and Robert McRorie, Unit II Directors Lana Causley and Kimberly Lee, Unit III Directors Bridgett Sorenson and Shawn Borowicz, Unit IV Directors Darcy Morrow and Kimberly Hampton and Unit V Director Tyler LaPlaunt.  

Following the swearing in, the new board held its first meeting to elect board officers. Kim Hampton was elected secretary, Tyler LaPlaunt was elected treasurer, and Austin Lowes was elected vice chairman. 

Pictured are LaPlaunt, Borowicz, Lee, McKechnie, Hampton and McRorie (L-R).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *