Lakers Ranked Sixth in CCHA Preseason Coaches Poll

SAULT STE. MARIE, Mich. – The Central Collegiate Hockey Association (CCHA) has announced the results of the 2021-22 Preseason Coaches Poll on Monday, Sept. 20. Lake Superior State was picked to finish in the sixth spot, receiving 45 total points.

The Minnesota State University Mavericks have been picked among the league’s head coaches to win the MacNaughton Cup, which will be awarded to the Central Collegiate Hockey Association’s (CCHA) regular season champion annually. The Mavericks captured five first-place votes and totaled 67 of a possible 70 points.

Bemidji State earned 63 points, including one first-place vote, while Michigan Tech was nominated to finish third with 55 points and two first place votes. Northern Michigan (54), Bowling Green State (46), defending playoff champion Lake Superior State(45), Ferris State (32) and St. Thomas (30) rounded out the coaches’ poll respectively.

The eight CCHA head coaches ranked the members in projected order of finish for the regular season. Points were awarded on an 10-9-8-7-6-5-4 basis. League coaches ranked the CCHA teams, excluding their own school, in the order they predicted the regular season will end.

Three more awards will be announced throughout the day today as the CCHA All-Preseason Team will be announced at 11:30 a.m. CT / 12:30 p.m. ET, while the CCHA Preseason Rookie of the Year will be announced at 12:30 p.m. CT / 1:30 p.m. ET and the CCHA Preseason Player of the Year will be announced at 1:30 p.m. CT / 2:30 p.m. ET.

The CCHA Media Day will take place tomorrow, Tuesday, Sep. 21, 2021, beginning at 9 a.m. CT / 10 a.m. ET. Along with CCHA Commissioner Don Lucia and CCHA Director of Officiating Kevin Langseth, all eight CCHA Head Coaches will preview the upcoming season and be available to answer questions from local, regional and national media outlets virtually via a Zoom video conference.

2021-22 CCHA Preseason Coaches’ Poll:

  1. Minnesota State – 67 (5)
  2. Bemidji State – 63 (1)
  3. Michigan Tech – 55 (2)
  4. Northern Michigan – 54
  5. Bowling Green State – 46
  6. Lake Superior State – 45
  7. Ferris State – 32
  8. St. Thomas – 30

The CCHA officially drops the puck on their first season since the 2012-13 campaign Saturday, Oct. 2. All eight CCHA teams will be in action with four non-conference games and three exhibition contests scheduled. The first CCHA conference game will take place on Friday, Oct. 8 when the St. Thomas Tommies visit the Northern Michigan Wildcats. The first time all eight CCHA teams will face each other in one weekend will be Nov. 18-20

Staff Report
Latest posts by Staff Report (see all)

Staff Report

This story was prepared by the staff at EUP News or contributed from an outside source.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*