Blue Devils Wrestling Closes Out Season

The 2023-2024 Sault High Blue Devils wrestling team closed out their season with a banquet celebrating the team’s success.

Six wrestlers were recognized for making the UP All Academic Team, for being a junior or senior with a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher. Juniors Calvin Aldrich, Sawyer Kuenzer, Brett Siesel and Max VanDoren, and Seniors Chris Kiekhaefer and Will Ohman made the team.

A number of Blue Devils wrestlers made the Straits Area Conference first and second teams, based on wins in conference duals and votes by coaches in the conference. Making the first team were Sophomore Wyatt Peabody, Juniors Max VanDoren, Cody Russo, Calvin Aldrich and Sawyer Kuenzer, and Seniors Will Ohman and Chris Kiekhaefer. Making the second team were Juniors Chase Tracey and Brett Siesel.

Individual awards were also presented at the banquet. The First Year Wrestler Award went to sophomore Marc DeWildt, for having the best record of the first year members of the team. The Sportsmanship Award went to Junior Cody Russo. The  Coaches Award was presented to Senior Chris Kiekhaefer, and the Most Improved Wrestler Award went to Sam Kiekhaefer.

Lastly, the Team MVP/Ralph Sarnowski Award went to Senior Will Ohman. This year’s team had one of the most successful seasons in the history of Blue Devils wrestling.

Coaches Jacinto Arreola, Brendin Cryderman and Matt Vieira are looking forward to continued growth, and keeping the momentum going in the coming years. 

UP Academic All Team Award Winners
L-R: Calvin Aldrich, Chris Kiekhaefer, Sawyer Kuenzer, Will Ohman, Brett Siesel, Max VanDoren

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *